Русский|English
feedback

City government

Science and innovation

03.06.2015, 19:21

750 entries about Moscow published in Russian Wikipedia over the past two months

750 entries about Moscow published in Russian Wikipedia over the past two months

Participants in the Discover Moscow with Wikipedia competition, which started in March this year, have already written over 750 entries about the history, architecture and geography of the capital, as well as well-known persons associated with the city. Wikipedia Commons has been replenished with 550 new photographs and illustrations during this period.

Participants can select subjects for entries on their own or from the Word-List compiled by the Wikimedia non-commercial partnership and the Discover Moscow navigation project.

Thanks to the competition, Wikipedia already provides information about Yakov Brus’s house on Brusov Pereulok where Gilyarovsky and Levitan stayed at different times, about the egg-shaped house in the Basmanny District, and about Moscow’s own Colosseum. In the Organisations category, participants described over a dozen lesser-known Moscow museums, including the Public Catering Museum, Horse Breeding Museum, Corporal Punishment Museum and Russian Estate Culture Museum. The Internet encyclopedia now provides information about the history of Moscow before 1147, monuments of Old Belief in Moscow and the only mobile statue in the world carried by a rail trolley. The participants did not forget the Discover Moscow project itself. Wikipedia now contains an entry about it.

Anyone wishing to try their hand at writing encyclopaedic entries about the capital has until 31 July when a professional panel of judges will draw up the results and determine the winners. Before nominating an entry for the competition, the authors should ascertain that the text satisfies the primary Wikipedia rules: that it meets the significance test requirements and does not infringe copyright.

It is prohibited to copy texts from any sources. Facts in the entries should be described in a neutral manner, without a value judgment. References to the sources of information are compulsory. According to the competition results, the authors of the best materials in all of the nominations will receive prizes: a laptop for first place, a pad for second place and a smartphone for third place.

For the text to be noticed by the panel, after finishing work with an entry, participants should make reference to it in the respective table in the Nominations section.

The Discover Moscow with Wikipedia competition was organised by the Moscow Government Discover Moscow navigational tourist project in cooperation with the Wikimedia RU non-commercial partnership.

Версия для слабовидящих Русский|English
Обратная связь

Городская власть

Наука и инновации

03.06.2015, 19:21

За два месяца в русской «Википедии» появилось 750 статей о Москве

За два месяца в русской «Википедии» появилось 750 статей о Москве

Участники конкурса «Узнай Москву с „Википедией“», который стартовал в марте этого года, написали уже более 750 статей об истории, архитектуре и географии столицы, а также известных личностях, связанных с городом. Викисклад за это время пополнился 550 свободными фотографиями и иллюстрациями.

Темы для статей участники могут выбрать самостоятельно или из «Словника», который составили эксперты некоммерческого партнёрства «Викимедиа» и навигационного проекта «Узнай Москву».

Благодаря конкурсу уже сейчас в «Википедии» можно прочесть о доме Якова Брюса в Брюсовом переулке, где останавливались в разное время Гиляровский и Левитан, о доме-яйце в Басманном районе, а также узнать, что в столице есть собственный Колизей. В категории «Организации» участники конкурса описали больше десятка малоизвестных московских музеев, в том числе Музей общественного питания, Музей коневодства, Музей телесных наказаний, Музей русской усадебной культуры. В интернет-энциклопедии теперь можно узнать об истории Москвы до 1147 года, познакомиться с памятниками московского старообрядчества и почитать о единственном в мире передвижном памятнике на дрезине. Участники конкурса не обошли вниманием и сам проект «Узнай Москву» — о нём теперь также есть статья в «Википедии».

У всех желающих попробовать свои силы в написании энциклопедических статей о столице есть время до 31 июля, когда профессиональное жюри начнёт подводить итоги и определит победителей. Перед тем, как номинировать статью на конкурс, авторам нужно убедиться, что текст соответствует основным правилам «Википедии»: отвечает критериям значимости и не нарушает авторские права.

Запрещается копировать тексты из любых источников. Факты в статьях должны излагаться нейтрально, без оценочных суждений. Также должны быть в обязательном порядке указаны ссылки на источники информации. По итогам конкурса авторы лучших материалов во всех номинациях получат призы: ноутбук — за первое место, планшет — за второе и смартфон — за третье.

Для того чтобы текст попал в поле зрения жюри, после завершения работы над статьёй ссылку на неё участник конкурса должен самостоятельно добавить в соответствующую таблицу в разделе «Номинации».

Конкурс «Узнай Москву с „Википедией“» организован навигационно-туристическим проектом Правительства Москвы «Узнай Москву» совместно с некоммерческим партнёрством «Викимедиа РУ».