Русский|English
feedback

City government

Science and innovation

13.08.2015, 18:56

Moscow Internet providers discontinue low-speed connection rates

Moscow Internet providers discontinue low-speed connection rates

Major Internet providers operating in Moscow have completely discontinued plans offering connection speeds of less than 10 megabits per second. According to analysts from the Department of Information Technology, there have been no new proposals in this segment since the autumn of 2014. This summer, providers finally stopped providing low-speed broadband Internet access. The exception is a number of social unlimited plans for preferential categories of citizens.

Major operators mainly provide broadband Internet access at speeds of 40 megabits per second, and in some plans, the baseline speed is 100 megabits per second. As of July, the average price for Internet access is 777.5 roubles per month. An assessment of the average cost of access speeds shows that Muscovites spend 415 roubles per month on Internet access with speeds of 10 to 40 megabits per second, 660 roubles per month for 100 megabits per second and over 1,600 roubles per month for the highest speeds.

According to head of the analytical division of the Department of Information Technology Alexei Chukarin, providing low-speed Internet access is impractical because the modern equipment offered by providers operates at speeds of over 10 megabits per second.

According to the study of Internet development in Russia’s regions made by the Yandex company, Moscow providers offer the most favourable connection terms for customers — high speed and good prices — as compared to other regions.

Версия для слабовидящих Русский|English
Обратная связь

Городская власть

Наука и инновации

13.08.2015, 18:56

Московские интернет-провайдеры исключили из своих линеек тарифы с низкой скоростью подключения

Московские интернет-провайдеры исключили из своих линеек тарифы с низкой скоростью подключения

Крупнейшие интернет-провайдеры, работающие в Москве, полностью исключили из своих линеек тарифы со скоростью подключения ниже 10 мегабит в секунду. Как отмечают аналитики Департамента информационных технологий города, новых предложений в этом сегменте не появлялось с осени 2014 года. К лету текущего года операторы окончательно перестали предоставлять широкополосный доступ в интернет на низких скоростях. Исключение составляет ряд отдельных социальных безлимитных тарифов для льготных категорий граждан.

Крупные операторы преимущественно предоставляют широкополосный доступ в интернет на скорости 40 мегабит в секунду, а в некоторых предложениях базовой скоростью является 100 мегабит в секунду. При этом средняя цена доступа по состоянию на июль составляет 777,5 рубля в месяц. При оценке средней стоимости скорости доступа получается, что москвичи тратят 415 рублей в месяц на интернет со скоростью от 10 до 40 мегабит в секунду. На доступ до 100 мегабит в секунду уходит 660 рублей в месяц, а за самую высокую скорость придётся заплатить свыше 1600 рублей.

Как пояснил глава аналитического подразделения Департамента информационных технологий Алексей Чукарин, предоставление доступа на низких скоростях нецелесообразно, поскольку современное оборудование провайдеров работает на скорости от 10 мегабит в секунду и выше.

Согласно результатам исследования развития интернета в регионах России, подготовленного компанией «Яндекс», московские провайдеры предоставляют наиболее выгодные для абонентов условия подключения по сравнению с другими субъектами — высокую скорость и доступные цены.